Gender, Bodies &Technology: (In)Visible Futures Schedule

(download pdf version here)

Thursday April 21, 2016

7:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.                                                                        Opening Reception with DJ Ali Colleen Neff

  • AKA Bar, Hotel Roanoke
  • Cash Bar, Light Snacks Provided

Friday April 22, 2016

7:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.                                                                          Registration

8:00 a.m.                                                                                               Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.                                                                        Concurrent Sessions                          

  • Reproducing Bodies in Circuits of Power and Exchange (Buck Mountain)

    1. “Virtual and Reproductive Technologies: Making Egg Donation Visible,” Amy Speier (speieramy@gmail.com)

    2. “Ukrainian Egg Donors in the Context of Transnational Reproductive Travel and Labor,” Polina Vlasenko (pvlasenk@indiana.edu)

    3. “’Reproductive Tourism’ from Turkish Egg Donors’ Perspectives,” Burcu Mutlu (bmutlu@mit.edu)

    4. “Precarious Time and Anticipatory Eggs: The ‘False Hope’ of Egg Banking Technology,” Rajani Bhatia (rbhatia2@albany.edu)

Moderator: Jennifer Turner (jennlt8@vt.edu)
 

  • Gendered Technologies of the Self: Making the Therapeutic Visible (Wilson)
    1. “Trauma Exposed: Figuring Masculinity in New Therapies for PTSD,” Marisa Brandt (brandtm7@msu.edu) 

    2. “Affecting Chemicals: Reflecting on the Body in Psychedelic Therapy,” Katherine Hendy (katie.hendy@gmail.com)

    3.  “Arbitrary Affects: Online Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and Care Work,” Jeffrey Mathias (predictingtherain@gmail.com)

Moderator: Katrina Powell (kmpowell@vt.edu)

  • Interpreting Gendered Digitality through an Embodied Lens (Monroe)

    1. “Digital Spaces Black Women Gazes: Exhibiting Agency Via Engagement, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship,” Jameta Barlow (jbarlow@towson.edu)

    2. “Pink Pills, Coercive Rhetorics, and Corporate Sponsored Feminism,” Abigail Morris (morrisa13@students.ecu.edu)

    3. “New Technology, Old Ideologies: Anti-Feminist Rhetoric in Online Spaces,” Gina Kruschek (kruschekg14@students.ecu.edu)

    4. “Hacking the Hacktivist: An Examination of Gendered Social Activism in Digital Spaces,” Carleigh DeAngelis (deangelisca14@students.ecu.edu)

Moderator: Donna Riley (dmriley@vt.edu)

  • Workshop (Madison)

    1. “Altered Barbies,” Martha McCaughey (mccaugheym@appstate.edu)

Moderator: Katrina Powell (kmpowell@vt.edu)

  • Rendering Gender: Flesh, Ethnicity and the Virtual  (Harrison/Tyler)

    1. “On Flesh, Agency and Resistance,” Srikanth Mallavarapu 

    2. “Facial Trans-Formations: Sexualizing Ethnic Features in the Practice of Facial Feminization Surgery,” Eric Plemons (eplemons@email.arizona.edu)

    3. “Discourses of Trans* Bodies Online: Explorations of Replication, Reification, and Resistance,” Toni Roberts (troberts@mta.ca) 

    4. “Simulated Affect?: Visible and Invisible Renderings of the ‘Third World Woman’ within Empathetic Video Games,” Erika M. Behrmann (erikamb@bgsu.edu)

Moderator: Sharon Johnson (spjohnson@vt.edu)

 

10:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.                        Concurrent Sessions

  • Workshop (Madison)

    1. “ePortfolio Presentations and Digital Performances: Linking How We Identify Offline to Who We Are Online,” Martina Svyantek (svyantek@vt.edu)

Moderator: Martina Svyantek (svyantek@vt.edu)

  • Sound, Sense, and Affect (Wilson)

    1. “Bodies in the Cloud: On the Interactive Nodes of Existence of Holographic Entities,” Kathy Nguyen

    2. “Auroratone: Rehabilitation through Synesthesia,” Alexandra Fine (akfine@ucdavis.edu)

    3. “Auditing Visibility, Visualizing the Audible: Women, Media and Presence in Dakar, Senegal,” Ali Neff (mail@alicolleenneff.com)

    4. “Re-membering Voices and Making Manifest Melville’s Others: A Performative Reading with Digital Accompaniment,” Lissa Holloway- Attaway (lissa.hollowayattaway@his.se)

Moderator: Ali Colleen Neff (alineff@vt.edu)

  • Precarious Reproductive Futures: Vulnerable Bodies and Unruly Desires in Contemporary Discourse (Monroe)

    1. “Precarious Bodies, Vulnerable Subjects, and the Violence of Surrogacy in Michael Robotham’s The Last Ferry,” Modhumita Roy (modhumita.roy@tufts.edu)

    2. “Confessions: Genetic Abortion in Mommy-Memoirs by Waldman and Beck,” Mary Thompson (thompsmx@jmu.edu)

    3. “Invisible Power, Beyond Choice: Do-it-yourself Abortion in the Fictions of Castillo, Kincaid, and Kelly,” Jeannie Ludlow (jeannieludlow@gmail.com)

Moderator: Saul Halfon (shalfon@vt.edu

  • Invisibility, Ignorance, and Epistemology (Buck Mountain)

  1. “Rhetorical Purification: Eugenics, Transhumanism, and the Disappearance of the Marginalized,” Joshua Earle (jearle@vt.edu)

  2. “Why Deny? The Willful Ignorance of Gender-Based Violence in STEM,” Donna Riley (dmriley@vt.edu)

  3. “Epistemological Pluralism in Computer Education: Disrupting Gendered Ways of Teaching and Assessing Knowledge,” Darren Maczka (dmaczka@vt.edu)

     

Moderator: Laura Gillman (lgillman@vt.edu)
 

  • Clones in Orphan Black: Bodies as Queer, Reproductive, and Property (Harrison/Tyler)

    1. “Kinship as Technology in the World of Orphan Black,” Jessica Herling (jherling@vt.edu)

    2. “Queering the Clones of Orphan Black: Reproduction, Eugenics, and Queer Kinship,” Talitha Rose (tkrose@vt.edu)

    3. “‘I’m Not Your Property’: Issues of Body Autonomy and Ownership in Orphan Black,” Rayanne Streeter (streetrc@vt.edu)

Moderator: Talitha Rose (tkrose@vt.edu)
 

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.                                       Lunch

Crystal Ballroom


1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.                         Keynote Performance

“Salt Marsh Suite”

Directors/choreographers: Carol-Burch Brown (cbb@vt.edu); Ann Kilkelly (akilkell@vt.edu)  

Assistant director: Kristin Kelly

Dancers: Olivia Bowers, Claire Constantikes, Naphtali Fields, Cambria McMillan-Zapf, Saadia Rais, Rachel Rugh, Julia Russo

(Washington Lecture Hall)


2:45 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.                                Concurrent Sessions

  • Biopolitical Dis/Investments (Buck Mountain)

    1. “Under the Gaze Again: Governing Pregnant Bodies in the Age of Epigenetics and Human Microbiome,” Chikako Takeshita (chikako.takeshita@ucr.edu)

    2. “Re-Visioning the Disposable Body: Deinstitutionalization and Corporeal Power,” Amy Sorensen (acressell@radford.edu)

    3. “Toxic Life, Slow Death: Black Geographies and Industrial Toxicity,” Pavithra Vasudevan (pavithra@email.unc.edu)

    4. “Toxicity and Technologies of Bodies on the Line: Performing the Politics of Health Justice Activism,” Marie Garlock (writetomarie@gmail.com)

Moderator: Jennifer Turner (jennlt8@vt.edu)

  • Virtual Gatekeeping (Wilson)

    1. “Representation of Queer Bodies in Online Comics: Queer Comics and Their Creators,” Sebastian Rock (rock237574@avila.edu)

    2. “Who’s Allowed to Be Here? Analyses of Black Feminist Twitter,” Maryann Kozlowski (kozlowski.maryann@gmail.com)

    3. ”Fat Vegan Politics: The Invisibility and Hypervisibility of People of Size in the Digital Vegan Community,” Corey Wrenn (cwrenn@monmouth.edu)

    4. “Watch Me Disappear: Pro-Anorexia, Self-Injury, and Gendered Bodies in Virtual Communities,” Leandra Preston-Sidler (Leandra.Preston-Sidler@ucf.edu)

Moderator: Rayanne Streeter (streetrc@vt.edu)

  • Genital Assemblages (Monroe)

    1. “Hardware Restoration: Reactions to Reconstruction after Male Circumcision and Female Genital Cutting,” Laura M. Carpenter (l.carpenter@vanderbilt.edu)

    2. “Vaginal Speculation: Reading Across an Archive of Gendered Microbiota Futures,” Rebecca Howes-Mischel (howesmre@jmu.edu)

    3. “Unsexing and Hetero-/Cis-normativity: The Paradox of Museum Taxidermy,” Jonathan Grunert (jgrun1@vt.edu)

    4. “McGender: How Medical Technology Creates the Illusion of Choice for Transgender and ‘DSD’ (Intersex) Individuals,” Olivia Thompson (odthompson@radford.edu)

Moderator: Krystin Krist (kkrist@methodist.edu)

  • Workshop (Madison)

    1. “From Idea to Launch: How to Start a Revolution through Podcasting,” Dawn Serra (talktome@dawnserra.com)

Moderator: Katrina Powell (kmpowell@vt.edu)

  • ‘What are You Looking At?’: Online Surveillance and Nondominant Bodies (Harrison/Tyler)

    1. “Surveilling Strangers: Discipline, Networks, and People of Walmart,” Lauren Cagle (cagle@mail.usf)

    2. “Watch your Weight!: Ideologies of Infodemiology,” Diane Price-Herndl (priceherndl@usf.edu)

    3. “A Beloved Community of Cyborgs: Towards an Understanding of Afro-Transhumanism,” Julian M. Galette (Julian.m.galette@vanderbilt.edu)

Moderator: Ariel Ludwig (arludwig@vt.edu)

 

4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.                                Keynote Speaker
 

“The Girl Effect: Transnational Paradoxes and Paradigms of Sex-selective Abortion”

Eesha Pandit of the Crunk Feminist Collective

(Washington Lecture Hall)

 

Saturday April 23, 2016

7:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.                                                                          Registration

8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.                                                                        Concurrent Sessions

  • Gendering Data: Analysis and Production (Buck Mountain)

    1. “Feminism Reads Big Data: From Selfie Research to Community Informed Consent,” Elizabeth Losh (lizlosh@wm.edu)

    2. “Gender as Data:  The Computational Future of the Gender Question,” Laura Norén (laura.noren@nyu.edu)

    3. “Pixelation Situation: Shedding Light on the Situatedness of Researchers, their Satellites, and their Data Analyses in Remote Sensing,” Samantha Jo Fried (sjfried@vt.edu)

    4. “Desire by Design,” Patrick Keilty (p.keilty@utoronto.ca)

Moderator: Rebecca Hester (rjhester@vt.edu)

  • Workshop (Wilson)

    1. “ Critical Workshopping, Sound, and the Practice of Soldering,” Ellen Foster (el.fostek@gmail.com)

Moderator: Katrina Powell (kmpowell@vt.edu)
 

  • Revealing the Body in Pieces (Monroe)

    1. “’Perfect Humans’: Genome Mapping, Race, and Sexuality,” Jennifer A. Hamilton (jhamilton@hampshire.edu)

    2. “Mutation in My Code: Genetic Testing, BRCA Data and the Brave New Affective Politics of Genomic Identity,” Kim Surkan (ksurkan@mit.edu)

    3. “Variants of Significance? Constructions and Understandings of Cancer Genetic Risk,” Ronna Popkin (rp2471@columbia.edu)

    4. “Dissecting the Human/Posthuman Technological Configuration: Public Perceptions of the Body, Gender, Health, and Clinical Practices,” Alana Baker (bakeral13@students.ecu.edu)

Moderator: Jonathan Banda (jpbanda@vt.edu)

  • Bodies and Space (Madison)

    1. “Gendering Mopeds and Gendering Users in Taiwan,” Kuan-Hung Lo (khlo@vt.edu)

    2. “Women and Maker Spaces,” Heather Greenhalgh-Spencer (Heather.greenhalgh-spencer@ttu.edu)

    3. “Ensembles of Dignity:  Anxieties in the Public Toilet,” Carmen Christopher (christoc@meredith.ed)

    4. “Affective Localities of Violence: Technology and Presentation of Queer Self,” Helis Sikk (hsikk@email.wm.edu)

Moderator: Kuan-Hung Lo (khlo@vt.edu)

  • Workshop (Harrison/Tyler)

    1. “The Gaze at the Gynoid, Robotic Women in Western Science Fiction Film,” Artemis Linhart (artemis.linhart@gmail.com)

Moderator: Joshua Earle (jearle@vt.edu)

 

10:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.                        Concurrent Sessions

  • Critical Science Literacy: Feminist, Queer, Trans* and Intersex Interventions (Buck Mountain)

    1. “Rethinking ‘Disorders of Sex Development’ : Intersex, Biomedicine, and Social Justice,” David Rubin (davidarubin@usf.edu)

    2. “Dreams of a Dyke Science,” Angela Willey (awilley@wost.umass.edu)

    3. “Precarity, Evidence, and the Demand for Protection,” Cyd Cipolla (cyd.cipolla@nyu.edu)

    4. “Neuroimaging Trans*: A Call for a Trans* Critical Science Studies,” Kristina Gupta (guptaka@wfu.edu)

Moderator: Jessica Herling (jherling@vt.edu)

  • Expecting Embodied Danger: Anticipatory Technologies of Surveillance (Wilson)

    1. “Building Resilient Bodies: Pre-exposure Prophylaxis for HIV and the Neoliberal Subject,” Jonathan Banda (jpbanda@vt.edu)

    2. “Policing in the Age of Big Data: Predictive Technologies and the Making of Criminal Bodies,” Ariel Ludwig (arludwig@vt.edu)

    3. “Bioveillance and Biological Danger: Pre-empting Circulation through Techno-Scientific Immunity,” Rebecca Hester (rjhester@vt.edu)

Moderator: Rebecca Hester (rjhester@vt.edu)

  • Tracking and Regulating (Female) Bodies (Monroe)

    1. “Fit to Mother: Risk and Self-Care in the Pregnant Athlete,” Lorin Shellenberger

    2. “Cyborg Neoliberalism: Practicing Neoliberal Subjectivity through the Fitness Tracker,” Caroline Alphin (calphin1@vt.ed)

    3. “Suppressing the Modern Period: Biomedicalization and Intimate Norms of Menstruation,” Katie Ann Hasson (khasson@usc.edu)

    4. “The Infertile Female Body: Embodiment, Visualization, and Discipline through Transvaginal Ultrasound Technology,” Heather Deering (hldeerin@mtu.edu)

Moderator: Krystin Krist (kkrist@methodist. edu)

  • Performance (Madison)

    1. “Invisible Death: Cooking with Pests,” Lindsay Garcia (ldgarcia@email.wm.edu)

Moderator: Amy Splitt (amys@vt.edu)

  • Mediating Symbolic Bodies (Harrison/Tyler)

  1. “Electric Girls and Spirit Telegraphs: Feminine Bodies and Mediumship as Communication Technology,” Melissa Adams (mbadams4@ncsu.edu)

  2. “Books, Patriarchal Agency, and the (In)visible Body of the Princess: Future Uses and Medieval Context for Disney’s Sleeping Beauty,” Carlee A. Bradbury (cabradbur@radford.edu)

  3. “Trans‐cendence and Trans‐gression in Deepa Mehta’s Elements Trilogy,” Rose Hartfield Wilson (rosehwilson@gmail.com)

  4. “Claiming Queers Now and Then: Past, Politics, and Pop Culture”, Loran Renee Marsan (marsan@ohio.edu)

Moderator: Sharon Johnson (spjohnson@vt.edu)
 

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.                                       Lunch

Crystal Ballroom


1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.                             Keynote Speaker

"Chemical Exposure and Decolonial Potential"

Michelle Murphy, University of Toronto

(Washington Lecture Hall)


2:45 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.                              Concurrent Sessions

  • Performance (Washington Lecture Hall)

“There is Pleasure in the Pathless Woods”

Choreographer: Claire Constantikes (constantikes@yahoo.com)

Dancers: Claire Constantikes, Fiona Harris, Cambria McMillan-Zapf, Scott Wagner, Kevin Wood

Musician:  George Tatum

Technical Director:  Shawn VanSchuyver, Scott Wagner

Moderator: Ann Kilkelly (akilkell@vt.edu)

  • Illegible Labor: On Visibility, Reproduction, and the Work of Women’s Bodies in Medicine (Wilson)

    1. “’#ThankYouHenrietta’: Reflections on Science, Justice, and the Politics of Refusal,” Sandra Harvey (sharvey1@ucsc.edu)

    2. “(Im)Possible (In)Visibilities: Exploring Differential Labor in the Production of ‘Defective’ Female Genitalia in the FGCS Industry,” Jessica Neasbitt (jneasbit@ucsc.edu)

    3. “’Not Quite Normal’: Buck v. Bell and the Establishment of Eugenic Visibilities in the United States,” Amanda Reyes (amrreyes@ucsc.edu)

Moderator: Jonathan Banda (jpbanda@vt.edu)

  • Monstrous Reproduction (Monroe)

    1. “‘That Child is Possessed’: Monstrous Birth and Dissociative Motherhood in Civil War Literature,” Verdie Culbreath (vmc47@cornell.edu)

    2. “Pregnant Butch? : Portraying the Masculine Pregnant Body,” Laura Hartmann-Villalta

    3. “Fetal Imposition: Scientism and Sexism in Damien Hirst’s The Miraculous Journey,” Beck Wise (beck.wise@utexas.edu)

Moderator: Christine Labuski (chrislab@vt.edu)

  • Workshop and Performance (Madison)

    1. Workshop: “Pseudonymity in Location-based Social Discovery Apps and the Visibility of Gender and Sexual Identity,” Dana Riger (driger@vt.edu)

    2. Performance: “Distance Methods of Movement Collaboration: Solo/Solo and Processes of Remote Dance Making,” Mountain Empire Performance Collective (Rachel Rugh and Katie Sopoci Drake) (rachel.g.rugh@gmail.com,  mountainempiredance@gmail.com)

Moderator: Dana Riger (driger@vt.edu)

  • Sex and the Song: The Virtual-Material in Musical Production  (Harrison/Tyler)

  1. “Masculinity, Music & Muscle: The ‘Missing Males’ in Adolescent Singing,” Patrick Freer (pfreer@gsu.edu)

  2. “(In)audible Futures: Predictive Analytics in Personal Genomics and Music Streaming,” Amanda Modell (amodell@ucdavis.edu)

  3. “Femmeshedding: How Female Musicians Access a Uniquely Gendered Perspective from Recording in Private,” Malavika Sahai (msahai@vt.edu)

Moderator: Samantha Jo Fried (sjfried@vt.edu)